We and our partners utilize technologies, like cookies, and gather data to supply you with the very best internet experience and to personalise the information and advertising.
Please let us know if you agree.
As Dutch sprinter Fabio Jakobsen won the final stage of the Vuelta a Espana in Madrid slovenian Primoz Roglic ensured his first Grand Tour.
Jakobsen, 23, took his second stage win of the race defeating Sam Bennett at a sprint that was disorderly.
The Irishman found himself boxed in and even though he had been closing was unable to add to his two previous point wins.
29, jumbo Visma’s Roglic, completed two minutes 16 minutes ahead of Spain’s Alejandro Valverde overall.
Roglic became the Slovenian to win the classification in one of cycling’s three Grand Tours – the Tour of France the Vuelta and the Giro d’Italia.
After winning the individual time trial on stage 10 he moved.
He put a minute and a half into all of his rivals and had been preferred.
He gave him a lead of nearly two minutes at the GC and with assistance from his Jumbo Visma team he managed to keep the jersey over the second half of their Vuelta most of the way.
On a notable day for Slovenia, 20-year-old Tadej Pogacar of all UAE Team Emirates joined winning the youthful rider group, as well as Roglic about the podium in third place.
Rider Jesus Ezquerra proposed midway and produced a ring. She said .
1. Fabio Jakobsen (Ned/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 2hrs 48mins 20 secs
2. Sam Bennett (Irl/Bora-Hansgrohe) Same Moment
3. Szymon Sajnok (Pol/CCC)
4. Jon Aberasturi (Esp/Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)
5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor/Dimension Data)
6. Edward Theuns (Bel/Trek-Segafredo)
7. Tosh Van der Sande (Bel/Lotto-Soudal)
8. Clement Venturini (Fra/Ag2r La Mondiale)
9. Marc Sarreau (Fra/Groupama-FDJ)
10. Dion Smith (Aus/Mitchelton-Scott)
1. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) 83hrs 7mins 31secs
2. Alejandro Valverde (Esp/Movistar) + 2mins 16secs
3. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates)+ 2mins 38secs
4. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) + 3mins 29secs
5. Miguel ??ngel Lopez (Col/Astana)+ 4mins 31secs
6. Rafa?? Majka (Pol/Bora-Hansgrohe)+ 7mins 16secs
7. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Sunweb) + 9mins 47secs
8. Carl Frederik Hagen (Nor/Lotto-Soudal) +12mins 54secs
9. Marc Soler (Esp/Movistar) + 22mins 10secs
10. Mikel Nieve (Esp/Mitchelton-Scott) + 22mins 17secs

Read more: footballleagueworld.com com